Planning Commission Appointments Approved

City Council subcommittee interviews 10 applicants

Post Date:06/24/2010 8:00 AM

On Tuesday, the City Council named replacements for two upcoming openings on the Lake Elsinore Planning Commission. The newly appointed Commissioners are Shelly Jordan and Rick Morsch, who will be seated at the next regular Commission meeting on July 6.

Mr. Morsch resides in Lake Elsinore and is a Registered Civil Engineer with over 35 years of land development experience. Ms. Jordan is also a Lake Elsinore resident and former planner with a major home developer, with over 12 years of planning experience.

Planning Commissioners serve staggered four-year terms. The existing terms of Commissioners Jimmy Flores and Axel Zanelli expire on June 30.The new Commissioners' terms will be effective from July 1, 2010 to June 30, 2014.

The City advertises all Commission openings to encourage public participation in local government.

To serve on the Planning Commission, an applicant must be either a resident of the City or own a business in the City. Planning Commissioners are not paid staff, but do receive a per meeting stipend of $100 (not to exceed 3 meetings per month).

A City Council selection committee recently interviewed ten applicants before presenting a final recommendation to the City Council on June 22. Selection committee members Robert Magee and Daryl Hickman thanked all the applicants and encouraged them to apply when the next Commission appointments come due in 2012.

The Planning Commission meets every first and third Tuesday of the month, 6:00 p.m., at the Cultural Center, 183 North Main Street, Lake Elsinore, California, 92530.

Return to full list >>